Emeril’s Beef Stock

I love French Onion Soup. I also love making as many things as possible from scratch, and I find that when I combine those two loves, it has pretty tasty results. This time I decided to take it to the next level and make my own beef stock. I figured of all the Google results, Emeril Lagasse’s recipe would be among the best. I think I was right! I made this recipe for the sole purpose of using it in French Onion Soup, but there is a lot leftover and I can’t wait to find some more uses for it. The recipe below is the same as Emeril’s, but I embellished a little on the directions and I found it made significantly more than the 1/2 gallon his claims to yield.

Prep: 10 minutes, Cook: 5.5 hours, Makes 1 1/4 gallons

Ingredients:

  • 7 pounds beef bones, sawed into 2″ pieces
  • 1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chopped carrot
  • 2 cups claret wine
  • 20 peppercorns
  • 5 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 5 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp dried thyme leaves
  • 1.5 gallons water

image

I found a local butcher that only uses grass-fed beef, so I had all these wonderful grass-fed bones, but it wasn’t until I got home that I realized I’d gotten one bag of perfect little 2″ bones and another of huge chunks of bone. I didn’t worry about it and I don’t think it could have possibly made much of a difference

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Place the bones on a roasting pan and roast for 1 hour. Remove from the oven and brush with the tomato paste. Lay the vegetables over the bones.

 image

Return to the oven and roast for 30 minutes. Place the pan on the stove and transfer the bones and veggies to a large stock pot. Deglaze the pan with the wine, scraping the bottom of the pan for browned particles. Add this mixture and any remaining wine to the pot. Add the peppercorns, garlic, and herbs. Season with salt. Bring the liquid up to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 4 hours.  image

Remove from the heat, strain the liquid and discard the bones. Refrigerate overnight (or however long it takes for the fat to rise to the top and solidify) and spoon off the lovely bright orange layer of fat.

image

There you have it! I used some in my soup, gave some to a friend, and put the rest in my freezer. What are you going to use your fantastically rich beef stock for?

Leave a Reply

