Farewell Risotto

Life has been a bit busy lately with Insanity workouts 6 days a week and packing for a move that’s underway, but I found some inspiration late last night and decided to make an awesome meal to bid a fond farewell to my kitchen. If you use sausage and/or a ton of veggies like I love to do, this is totally a meal by itself (ok, with a hunk of artisan bread and a little butter). If you prefer to keep it simple, it would be awesome paired with just about anything, depending on the flavor profile you choose.

I have to hand it to Food52. This post kind of changed my life. Before I read it, I’d been making “risotto” but had been a little intimidated about making a proper version that uses a ladle and requires some level of patience and dedication. Turns out, it’s not that hard and in fact, it’s kind of fun! Plus, the product is all kinds of worth the work that goes into it.

Last night, I scrounged around a bit and found the following items, which I’m listing more as suggestions than mandatory ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1.5 cups aborio rice
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • red pepper flakes
  • 5 cups broth*
  • 2 glugs red table wine
  • 1/2 pound Italian chicken sausage**
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • handful of mushrooms, sliced
  • handful of asparagus stalks, chopped
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • delicious cheese***

* actually I used 3 “not chicken” broth cubes and dissolved them into 6 cups of water, and I ended up using about 5 cups of it.

** leftover from the ridiculous Zuppa Toscana I’d made the night before.

*** I had a few ounces of Trader Joe’s rosemary & olive oil asiago that I chopped up and it was pretty much the best thing ever in there.

image

 

I can’t do any better at explaining how to make risotto than the author of this article, so just follow the link and learn how there. But srsly, do it. You’ll amaze yourself.

Leave a Reply

