Parmesan Crusted Edamame

Late Friday night, when dinner was a faded memory, I found myself two and a half gin & tonics deep, watching It’s Complicated on the couch. Watching It’s Complicated (which I suppose I have done more times than I realize most of you probably have) always makes me crave a hot, flaky, gooey chocolate croissant. Much to my chagrin, I am not, in fact, Meryl Streep as Jane Adler, and thus do not own a fancy-pants bakery in which to procure such fresh, delicious pastry treats. As it turns out, I didn’t even have any chocolate in the house. Not even one of those fun-sized bags of m&ms I like to keep around in case of emergencies.

This post is really starting off on the wrong foot. I was craving a chocolate croissant and so I made some edamame. Does that even make sense? Well, edamame has a sort of sweetness to it, and when covered in a spice rack full of goodness and smothered in cheese, it’s a legit snack. Plus, the odds of fulfilling my chocolate croissant fantasy were less than or equal to zero, and it would probably taste disgusting with gin anyway. (Ha!)

Anyway, I made this sort of health-conscious midnight snack, and it was so good that I need to share it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of frozen shelled edamame
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese*
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp nutritional yeast**
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne powder
  • sea salt & pepper to taste

image

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Let the edamame thaw on the countertop. Blot it with paper towels or an adorable tea towel if it gets watery.

Mix the parmesan, garlic, nootch, cayenne, salt & pepper in a little bowl.

Lay the edamame on a baking sheet (I used a pie pan and I think I should have used something bigger so it spread out more), drizzle with the olive oil and toss it all around to coat.

Mix in the cheese, etc. and spread it out on the sheet.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the cheese is crispy.

image

Enjoy! (I definitely did!)

*I used shredded parmesan and it worked fine but it didn’t get as crispy as maybe it would have if it had been more finely coated?

**totally optional, but I recommend it because it’s delicious. If you’re vegan, you can just use more of this in place of the cheese!

Recipe adapted from Pumps and Iron.

Leave a Reply

