Peanut Butter Pretzel Truffles

Annie has done it again! I was so pleased with the outcome of the last batch of truffles I made that when she posted this recipe for these sweet, salty, crispy, creamy balls of delish, I felt up to the challenge of making my own for Mother’s Day Brunch. I am SO glad I did! Not only were they raved over by everyone who tried them, my mom insisted on taking a few more for the road. Of course I kept a secret stash for later, which Ryan and I happily depleted while watching Forgetting Sarah Marshall when the house cleared out.

Make these now. They’re quick and easy and insanely tasty, especially for those who prefer their desserts a little on the less sweet side.

Ingredients:

For the filling:

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • ½ cup plus 2 tbsp. confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups crushed pretzels*

For the coating: 

  • 12 0z. bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped

For the drizzle:

  • 1 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp. milk
  • 4-6 tbsp. confectioners’ sugar

image

Directions:

To make the filling, combine the peanut butter, confectioners’ sugar, butter and pretzels in a medium bowl.  Mix well with a spoon until evenly combined and all ingredients are incorporated.  Roll the mixture into small balls, about 2-3 teaspoons worth each.  (You may need to clean your hands between batches to keep the mixture from sticking to your palms.)  Place on a baking sheet lined with foil, parchment, or wax paper.  Transfer to the freezer to chill for at least 30 minutes.

Place chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a bowl of simmering water, and heat until melted and smooth.  Dip chilled peanut butter-pretzel balls in the chocolate, gently shaking off the excess.  Transfer back to the lined baking sheet.  Chill to let chocolate fully set.

To make the peanut butter drizzle, combine the peanut butter and the milk in a small bowl.  Microwave briefly, about 15 seconds.  Add in the confectioners’ sugar and whisk until the mixture is smooth.  Adjust consistency as needed with additional confectioners’ sugar.  Drizzle over the coated truffles.  Let set before packaging or serving.  I kept the remaining balls (few as they were) in the fridge because I found they got a little melty sitting out for very long, and I preferred them chilled.

image

NOTE: Annie’s pictures are way prettier than mine and she offers advice like How to Temper Your Chocolate, whatever that means, so be sure to check out the original recipe.

NOTE ON INGREDIENTS: I used pretzel thins from Trader Joe’s and I think that might account for the wonderfully Butterfinger-esque texture in the truffles. I’m sure any pretzels will work, but these turned out to be a wise choice! Also, I couldn’t find bittersweet chocolate so I used chocolate bars from Trader Joe’s: Dark chocolate lover’s, milk chocolate truffle, and dark chocolate truffle. They worked just great.

Leave a Reply

