Love of Grub Original: Cucumber Sandwiches

As an afterthought to the panini feast I had planned for Mother’s Day Brunch, I threw together a few cold sandwiches. I did this mostly as a hasty bargain for time so I could get away from the panini press long enough to put clothes on before guests arrived. I rounded up what I could find in my kitchen and piled it on some leftover bread. The result was fresh and bright, simple and surprisingly satisfying. Those unassuming little morsels of vegetarian goodness were a hit, even with my extremely carnivorous family! I had to make them again, pronto.

Give this sandwich a try for lunch with a handful of salt & vinegar chips or for dinner alongside a hot bowl of cauliflower & cheddar soup. It’s also a fantastic midnight snack after an evening of beer drinking and music making!

image

Ingredients:

  • 4 kaiser rolls or an equivalent mass of bread-like vehicles
  • 1 small cucumber, sliced
  • 1 large handful of lettuce, salad mix, spinach, arugula or something similar
  • 4 oz. hummus
  • 8 oz. Greek yogurt & feta spread*

GREEK YOGURT & FETA SPREAD

  • 6 oz. plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 5 sundried tomatoe strips, chopped
  • 2 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 hearty squirt of fresh lemon juice
  • dried oregano, basil, thyme & black pepper to taste

Stir everything together in a bowl and season to taste.

Directions:

Prepare the spread, slice the bread, and slather one side of each sandwich with tangy, Greek goodness and the other side with hummus.

image

I have faith that you could take it from here on your own, but in case you like instagrams as much as I do…

arrange your cucumber slices on one side (for whatever reason, I prefer to do my building on the Greek side),

image

top with lettuce,

image

and put a lid on it!

image

Now, eat!

Leave a Reply

