ABC Date Bars

I’m not even going to call them homemade Lärabars because this is exactly how I felt about all 2-3 Lärabars I have ever had:

image

These are awesomely delicious date bars. Sure, they might have the same basic ingredients as their packaged and mass-produced counterparts, but I prefer the homemade kind. If you love Lärabars, save some money and make them yourself. If you feel “meh” about Lärabars, also try making them yourself. You can google “homemade Lärabars” and a ton of recipes with different flavor combinations will come up, so for now I am just giving you the list of what I put in my food processor to make mine. I am a sucker for anything PB&J, and I am also Paleo-ing, so this is what I do:

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup fancy Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup almond butter*
  • about 2 Tbsp dried cranberries*
  • about 2 Tbsp cashews
  • about 1 Tbsp fine coconut flakes*
  • about 1 Tbsp water
  • a few drops of coconut oil

abc bars

Directions:

Toss everything in a food processor and process until it becomes a big, smooth, stuck-together (but not to the processor) mess. Add water as needed. Lay out a big piece of wax paper and smoosh the ball of date stuff onto it.  My method is to fold the paper over the top and flatten it with a pan or cutting board or whatever is lying around (I suppose a rolling pin would work, too), shape it into a rectangle, and cut it into 8 little perfect serving sized bars. You could also form it into little balls and smoosh them into round date cookies. That would be adorable. You don’t have to refrigerate these, but I like to at least chill them for half an hour before eating them. I also like to put mine on these fancy Desert Rose plates I inherited from my grandma, but that’s totally optional.

image

Enjoy!

* unsweetened, of course!

Leave a Reply

