Rice-a-Flower

Doesn’t that sound lovely? I’m not going to lie, the idea of grinding up some cauliflower and calling it rice didn’t initially appeal to me. Rice is amazing! But since starting the Whole30 and hopping on the Paleo bandwagon, I realized I am going to need a suitable replacement for my favorite grain so I have something to pour my curry over. I gave it a whirl last night and, with the proper seasoning (an admittedly strange combination of things that sounded good at the moment), it turned out pretty great! The consistency is more like couscous than rice, but it served the purpose of soaking up my chicken curry and I didn’t feel at all guilty when I went back for another bowl of it topped with half an avocado before bed. I am really happy to have learned about this phenomenon I like to call Rice-a-Flower. This recipe makes about 6-8 servings.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 head cauliflower, rinsed, stems removed and roughly chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil + extra for drizzling
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Hungarian paprika
  • salt & pepper to taste

riceflower2

DIRECTIONS:

Saute your onion in the olive and coconut oils in a large pan over medium heat until translucent, about 5-8 minutes.

riceflower1

Meanwhile, place the chunks of cauliflower in a bowl and microwave them for 2 minutes to soften them up a bit. Process the chunks in the food processor until they look like this:

riceflower4

I had a pretty big head of cauliflower and a regular sized food processor, so I had to do this in three batches. Next, dump the cauliflower into the pan with the onions, stir everything together, and add the garlic, spices and butter.

riceflower3

Stir again, cover the pan and let the cauliflower steam and the flavors get to know one another for about 10 minutes. Drizzle some olive oil over the top, adjust seasoning as needed, and serve alone or under something delicious.

Leave a Reply

